PGA Tour and yet another nonsensical rule
Here’s a quickie for you…thanks to the team at SI.Com, I learned that Boo Weekley was penalized two strokes for pulling a flag to save partner Tom Johnson a two-stroke penalty. Somehow this reminds me of the problems that New York state is having with the Seneca nation…bear with me.
Rather than try to lower taxes to the level that the Senecas pay to sell tobacco and gasoline, New York seems intent to raise them up to the same asinine level that the rest of us pay. No wonder the private sector swirls down the drain in NYS.
Now switch to the PGA Tour. The tour has a long history of treating controversy with ignorance and blithering stupidity. We remember DiVicenzo at The Masters, Casey Martin’s leg, and now Boo Weekley. So Weekley sprinted across the green to save Johnson two strokes. So he didn’t get “permission” from Johnson to do so…what the hell!?!? Our PGA Tour is mired in a compilation of rules so labyrinthian and disfunctional that those on the outside must be laughing in their sleep.
When was the last time you heard something so inane from football, hoops, or hockey? Or even tennis? “Sorry, old sot, but by helping your opponent up from the turf, you violated rule 69:69, which states that you cannot assist anyone other than your own teammates, unless said opponent specifically requests your help in writing. What, he can’t write? Well, you’re screwed. Fifteen yards and a first down!!”
Methinks it’s time for the PGA Tour, the USGA, and the RandA to reassess their respective rule books. Time for a new, updated constitution, old sots.
|« RSVP...Regrets Only...How to botch your first PGA Tour event||Pro Golf round of year to date on European Tour »|
Feedback awaiting moderation
This post has 1 feedback awaiting moderation...